Wainwright Prize 2021

Named after nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the prizes are awarded to the work which best reflects Wainwright’s core values and include a celebration of nature and our natural environment or a warning of the dangers to it across the globe.


Feel free to browse the two shortlists - UK Nature Writing and Writing on Global Conservation. For more info, click here!

Screenshot 2021-08-20 at 19.16.15.png
The UK Nature Writing Shortlist

Click the book title to view

Thin Places, Kerri Ní Dochartaigh - The Wild Silence, Raynor Winn - The Screaming Sky, Charles Foster - Seed to Dust, Mark Hamer - I Belong Here, Anita Sethi - Featherhood, Charlie Gilmour - English Pastoral, James Rebanks

Screenshot 2021-08-20 at 19.43.12.png
Writing on Global Conservation Shortlist

Islands of Abandonment, Cal Flyn - A Life on Our Planet, David Attenborough - Net Zero, Dieter Helm - Entangled Life, Merlin Sheldrake - Fathoms: The World in the Whale, Rebecca Giggs - Under a White Sky, Elizabeth Kolbert