EACH COPY WILL COME WITH A SIGNED BOOKPLATE

 

 'Passionate and urgent.' Guardian, Book of the Week

'A must-read for all.' Stylist, best new books for 2020

'Fascinating, sometimes challenging, read, for fans of Caroline Criado Perez's Invisible Women and Angela Saini's Superior.' BBC Science Focus

 

Have you ever been told to smile more, been teased about your accent, or had your name pronounced incorrectly? If so, you've probably already faced bias in your everyday life.

 

We like to believe that we are all fair-minded and egalitarian but we all carry biases that we might not even be aware of. For the first time, behavioural scientist, activist and writer Dr Pragya Agarwal unravels the way our implicit or 'unintentional' biases affect the way we communicate and perceive the world, and how they affect our decision-making, even in life and death situations.

She takes a unique inter-disciplinary approach combining case studies, personal experience, interviews and real-world stories underpinned by scientific theories and research.

 

Throughout, Pragya answers questions such as: do our roots for prejudice lie in our evolutionary past? How has bias affected technology? If we don't know about it, are we really responsible for it? At a time when partisan political ideologies are taking centre stage, and we struggle to make sense of who we are and who we want to be, it is crucial that we understand why we act the way we do. This book will enable you to reflect and consider the forces that shape us all, opening your eyes to your own biases in a scientific and non-judgmental way.

 

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC 
ISBN: 9781472971357 

Sway - with signed bookplate!

£16.99Price

    ©2019 by Fox Lane Books