A gripping historical mystery for 9+ readers from an incredible new voice in children's fiction.

 

When Isobel Petty is orphaned, she finds herself being taken away from her home in India and sent to live with a distant uncle in England. On board the S.S. Mariana, she witnesses a shocking act - somebody being thrown overboard in the middle in the night. But when the ship's captain insists that nobody is missing, Isobel and her two new reluctant friends must solve two mysteries - the identities of both the murderer and the victim - before they reach England and the culprit has the chance to escape.

Inspired by The Secret Garden and the golden age of crime writing, The Secret Detectives is a gripping, beautifully historical mystery, from an incredible new voice in children's fiction - perfect for fans of Robin Stevens and Katherine Rundell.

 

"A thoroughly entertaining mystery and a heartening story of friendship. I loved it." - Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair's Mysteries

 

"...an uproarious historical thriller...this reads as if Agatha Christie had stumbled into The Secret Garden." - Emily Bearn, Telegraph

 

  • Publisher : Nosy Crow Ltd (3 Jun. 2021)
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1788006002

The Secret Detectives

£7.99Price