BBC Sky at Night & Science Focus

Fox Lane Books is delighted to be partnering the BBC's Sky at Night & Science Focus magazines for their programme of virtual lectures, with fascinating speakers this autumn that will take place online and be available to view globally. 

For tickets, speakers and more information on individual events, click HERE for Sky at Night

and HERE for Science Focus

Virtual lecture with David Sumpter: 10 ways maths can improve your life

Thursday 3rd December - 7pm GMT | 11am PDT | 2pm EDT

Prof David Sumpter joins us on 3 December to reveal the 10 equations that rule the world, and how to use them.

When we think of the secrets to a happy life, learning more maths is not top of the agenda. But David Sumpter will show how a small number of equations (10 of them in fact) rule many aspects of the world, from betting and sports to social media and technology.

If we can learn them, then we will not only understand how the world around us works, but also make better judgements, get greater balance in life, and make better decisions.

Includes Q&A 

Tickets and info

The Great Conjunction and the Star of Bethlehem with Br Guy Consolmagno

17 December 2020, 7pm

On 21 December 2020 planets Jupiter and Saturn will appear close together creating a marvellous spectacle in the night sky: a single bright ‘star’ marking the run-up to the festive period. Many are already dubbing this Great Conjunction the ‘Christmas star’.

Guy Consolmagno, Director of the Vatican Observatory and author of Would You Baptize an Extraterrestrial? looks at the story of the Star of Bethlehem, and whether astronomy can shed any light on its potential origins.

Tickets and info

©2019 by Fox Lane Books